RSS Feed

Creating Things

Posted on

Other than a portion of a sleepless night last night this has been a great weekend. Elaine and I have been productive but we’ve also had our share of down time. We’ve been crossing projects off of our list, creating lists of things to do next, and catching up on Glee, Grimm, and The Daily Show. We even watched part of a movie! We get our share of 30-40 minutes shows in, but we haven’t seen a movie since our BabyMoon in August. I am no movie critic but my advice is that Crazy, Stupid, Love is much better than Gnomeo & Juliet.

Okay my hope was to post a few videos of Mason… but I can’t figure out how to do it.  Oh, they want you to pay money to load videos- that is stupid but I’ll find a way to get around it 🙂

That was quick! Click on the links below to see three short videos (thank you Elaine):

Tummy Time!

First Bottle! Preparing for Elaine return to work in December

Baby on the Bed!

The videos have been fun to make and I hope they work for everyone. I shot them with an app (8mm Vintage Camera) that has a few vintage film options. There are different lenses and affects and it has been fun to experiment with Mason as our guinea pig. Please let me know if there are any issues.

We’ve also had a good food weekend and here are our samples:

On Friday I made applesauce from fruit we picked at our friend’s Christina’s ranch last weekend. I have no idea the types of apples but they were fresh and colorful. After the mixture cooked down and sampled, the finished product was canned for a later time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

On Saturday I made Butternut Squash & Carrot soup. It wasn’t my first time experimenting with the tough to peel butternut but this soup is my favorite squash soup recipe.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Saturday night was homemade pizza night. Ours included onions, garlic, mushrooms, & artichokes on an herb crust and topped with a cheddar/toscana cheese blend. One of my all-time favorites

 

 

 

It’s a rainy day today and our plans are joyfully limited. I imagine that we will make the best of it with a few more recipes, a nice cup of tea, and a visit to the library. Thanks for reading. Love, Mark

3 responses »

  1. Those videos were such fun to look at! He seemed to take the bottle pretty well! That’s great. And every time a see a baby with tummy time, it hurts my neck just watching it! 😉 You all are doing great!

    Reply
  2. Mom and Dad Watson

    Good going with the videos. That was fun. I wanted to wave back to baby on the bed. He did it on cue. And so glad he’ll take the bottle. That will help child care a LOT. Now I want the recipe for squash/carrot soup. On a chilly day like today, that sounds wonderful. Happy you all had a good weekend. Love, Mom

    Reply
  3. Cute videos, guys. Cuter baby! May I have the butternut soup recipe too?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

