RSS Feed

A Season of Thanks

Posted on

With most of Thanksgiving weekend already digested I wanted to take time to spread my thanks to those people/animals/and plants that help make my world a beautiful place to live. I’ve found myself thinking about work while I was working on this blog entry. Every night we do a house meeting where we ask the youth in our program to identify at least one appreciation in their life. House meeting is one of my favorite groups that we do in the shelter and whenever I participate it usually runs something like this…

Me: I appreciate my family..
Teenager: What about me?
Me: Of course I appreciate you. Friends, music, the moon, animals..
Teenager: What about spiders? I hate spiders.
Me: Yeah spiders are our friends. Without spiders we’d have millions of other bugs around our house. Now where was I.. I appreciate the sunrise, a nice cup of coffee, lilies, good food..
Teenager: Eww you like tofu. Tofu is gross. You have too many appreciations.
Me: Yes, I like good food and this is just the start of my list. I appreciate my bike, indoor plumbing, a roof over my head, and the beach. I also appreciate everyone around the table and people who used to eat dinner here too.
Teenager: Your list is too long.

Yes, my list is long and I have a lot to be thankful for. I have a beautiful, healthy baby who is full of smiles almost every morning. I have a wonderful, supportive, beautiful wife who in the last few months has turned into a nurturing, loving, and creative mother. I have two amazing parents and inspiring grand parents. I am apart of two very loving extended families. I have an incredible friend support system. I love my job (98% of the time). I live in an extremely beautiful part of the world. I am safe, have good food around me, am warm at night, feel loved, trust others, and feel like I’m making a difference in my part of the world.

This is a good place in life.
Enjoy and may your Thanksgiving be year-round

3 responses »

  1. Mom and Dad Watson

    And we are thankful for you three. You are right, never too many big or little things to be thankful for. It’s a powerful attitude to take and to pass on. Glad you had a weekend to be thankful for. Love, Mom

    Reply
  2. Beautiful, simply beautiful. Deb

    Reply
  3. you can of course use the coffee date idea!!!! hugs!!!! xoxoxoxoxo love, case!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

